Why I like today

Sunday 25th December 2011

BOWL of cereal with a cup of tea; followed by sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, fried bread; followed by several slices of toast, thickly spread with butter, some with added marmalade, others with honey, raspberry or strawberry jam; followed by hot, strong coffee and a cigar: December 25th menu.

There is no knowing at what hour will I sit down to this gustatory and gluttonous blow-out. It is a moveable feast.

No sensible person sets an alarm clock today… do they?

There’ll be telephone calls from family members and a couple of close friends. We will share the gifts of chit-chat and laughter, but the day will usually pass by unhurriedly, without fear or favour.

I may read, do some writing, bathe, watch a film, listen to music.

Having no religious faith, I won’t be visiting a place of worship; nor will I tune in to hear the words of the monarch; nor will I be popping out to the shops: the rites of ConsumerMass ended yesterday, thankfully.

However, having learned from an experience twenty-odd years ago – when I spent three days fasting on a bench at the end of the street – I shall take particular pleasure in an act of counter-propagandist civil disobedience when, shortly, I go out to Occupy the town centre.

I won’t be setting up a tent, marching in protest, or holding a one-person General Assembly on the steps of the parish church, but I will be cycling through all the red lights and going down all the one-way streets in an illegal direction.

Some would call it eccentricity. I think of it as claiming back the day; as freedom from brainwashing; a gesture of defiance; a symbolic act against the terrorism that makes us fearful of others by demanding we all behave like everybody else.

My younger daughter will be here later. We may play a word game or two; or just chill.

And tomorrow, she and I will cook a meal for my older daughter and her family. I’ll wash up, be teased by three granddaughters, and maybe have an afternoon snooze.

Such is bliss.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I like today

  1. Andy Veale says:

    A joy to read and an echo of my sentiments on Xmas day. Although I might add a couple of Rennie to that huge meal. Hope you don’t mind me commenting, a while back you liked a comment I made on an Occupy Facebook page. It inevitably led me here. I’m glad it did, I shall read more of the journal it has a very peaceful, thoughtful atmosphere

  2. Sounds idyllic! Love to you all!

Leave a Reply

