Virgulle’s Vestral 68

Wednesday 15th February 2012

More is revealed concerning Emily

WEEP and the world weeps with you.

When Arthur told me the news about Emily, I did not want to believe him. It did not seem possible that the little, gabble-gabble girl with the gap-toothed grin had failed to overcome the nasty nips of the crab within. Oh Emily! you were so strong of purpose, so swift of wit, so courageous of will.

“They thought it had gone away,” sighed Arthur, “but it was still lurking in some dark, tiny corner, where they couldn’t zap it. They can cure so many now… but only so many.”

“When will she die?”

“They’re not sure. A week or two. She sleeps most of the time. Jenny’s rented a cottage by the sea.”

“And has Emily been told she will die soon?”

“Yes.”

I stared out of the window. We were on a highway wide enough for three cages in each direction. Although Ursula was driving at speed, we were often being passed by other cages, vans and trucks.

Noticing a cage stopped in the side-lane alongside a crane-bearing wagon, I thought of those within the broken cage who now faced delay, disappointment and the possibility of not reaching their destination. Cancer had pushed Emily into a side-lane, where she would remain until a crane-wagon lifted up her broken body and conveyed it to a grave.

“Have you visited Emily in the new home?”

“I go and see them once a week. And Jenny and I speak on the phone every evening.”

“Have you told them that I have become free again? Did you let Tom hear the message I left after his tone?”

“Not yet. I wanted to talk to you first.”

“Why?”

“None of this is going to be easy, Virgulle. We hadn’t expected you to reappear all of a sudden. Everything’s changed. We all have to be very careful now.”

He was right. There were many things I had to consider, of which avoiding the giants was the least important. It mattered not that I might again be compelled to face custody and the menacing anger of Guvver Munt.

My only wish was to do whatever possible to help the family that had so willingly helped me.

This entry was posted in journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

