Virgulle’s Vestral 98

Sunday 10th June 2012

The contents of the box; an evening of drinking

“OPEN it.”

Inside were all the notebooks, drawings and letters of the Vestral – the papers seized by Stokes, the jottings I’d made in Norman’s office; everything I’d been compelled to leave at the fortress; even the satchel and its contents, last seen in Cliff Cottage.

“Oh Brendan! Thank you. This is wonderful! But tell me, please, how have you been able to put all the things in this box?”

“All I did was ask the Guvver Munt to see what they could come up with. Think of it as a gesture of goodwill from Ray Bilton.”

“Huh,” muttered Jenny. “Giving something back to its rightful owner isn’t what I’d call an act of goodwill.”

She drank much red wine that evening, allowing the liquor to pull her towards sleep. When I asked if she wanted me to help her upstairs to bed, she replied that she did not wish to move from the settee and would remain where she was until morning.

Brendan packed away his violin and prepared to leave.

“Just one more thing, Virgulle. This, er… unveiling ceremony for the press. They want it in London, before Chris Muss. It wouldn’t take long. Bilton has suggested next Tuesday. What do you think?”

I did not know what to think. Several times I had read the words that Guvver Munt had written for me to speak to the cameras of the giant Me Dear, but…

“It is hard, Brendan. I do not think I am ready for a big meeting with very many listeners. And I wish to remain here with Jenny.”

He nodded, we hugged and he left.

I took plates and wine glasses into the kitchen, opening the tap to let hot water pour into the basin. Looking round to see if there were other items on the table in need of washing, I noticed Jenny, standing in the doorway, leaning against the jamb.

“Got you over a barrel, have they? Bar studs. Do what he says, Ulla. Go to this press thing. Tell them what they want to hear. But… but there is something else you can do. Just an idea I’ve had… for what it’s worth. Right. I’m drunk…. and am off to bed.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in novel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

